List of Public Holidays in 2024 KL Malaysia Overview, Holiday lists, Biggest holiday, Top 5 Holidays

Overview of List of Public Holidays in 2024 KL Malaysia

List of Public Holidays in 2024 KL Malaysia is a country with many public holidays. Malaysia is a multi ethnic and belongs to many religions country that celebrates almost all types of festivals for the 3 major ethnic groups in Malaysia, which is the Malay, Chinese and the Indian.

List of Public Holidays in 2024

There are 19 national public holidays in 2024.

Date Day Holiday
1 Jan Mon New Year’s Day
25 Jan Thu Thaipusam
1 Feb Thu Federal Territory Day
10 Feb Sat Chinese New Year
11 Feb Sun Chinese New Year Holiday
12 Feb Mon Chinese New Year Holiday
28 Mar Thu Nuzul Al-Quran
10 Apr Wed Hari Raya Aidilfitri
11 Apr Thu Hari Raya Aidilfitri Holiday
1 May Wed Labour Day
22 May Wed Wesak Day
3 Jun Mon Agong’s Birthday
17 Jun Mon Hari Raya Haji
7 Jul Sun Awal Muharram
8 Jul Mon Awal Muharram Holiday
31 Aug Sat Merdeka Day
16 Sep Mon Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday
16 Sep Mon Malaysia Day
17 Sep Tue Malaysia Day Holiday
31 Oct Thu Deepavali
25 Dec Wed Christmas Day

Biggest holiday in Malaysia

Eid celebrations start at the end of Ramadan and is the biggest festival in Malaysia. People go to the mosque in the morning for prayers before returning home and having an open house.

Top 5 Public Holidays in Kuala Lumpur

1. Chinese New Year

Chinese New Year, otherwise known as the “Spring Festival” or “Lunar New Year,” is one of the biggest festivals for people with Chinese ancestry. It’s celebrated every Springtime, either in January or February.

2. Thaipusam

Thaipusam is an annual spiritual event celebrated by Hindus across the world. Every full moon in the tenth month of every year, Hindus devote this time to honour Lord Muragan, the Hindu God of War.

3. Hari Raya Aidilfitri

Hari Raya directly translates to “celebration day,” and Hari Raya Aidilfitri (also known as hari raya puasa) is the Festival of Breaking of the Fast. This day signifies the end of Ramadan, another important holiday celebrated by Muslims all over the world.

It’s considered one of the biggest holidays in Malaysia and one of the most important Islamic holiday. This holiday allows Muslims to return home and celebrate the day with their beloved families and loved ones.

4. Malaysia National Day

Celebrated every year on August 31st, Malaysia National Day marks Malaysia’s independence from British colonial rule in 1957.

Also known as Merdeka Day or Hari Merdeka, you can’t celebrate the day without shouting “Merdeka!” seven times. Introduced by the first-ever Prime Minister of Malaysia, Tunku Abdul Rahman, this practice has already become the norm.

5. Deepavali

Devoted Hindus all over the globe consider Deepavali or Diwali as one of the major festivals and most festive holidays. It’s also known as the Festival of Lights, a day of practicing traditional customs and making preparations beforehand.

To know more about KL Please click below links:

Top Tourist Attractions in Kuala Lumpur Malaysia

Kidzania Malaysia – Amusement park for kids

Pavilion Mall in Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Indoor adventure activity Beast park Kuala Lumpur

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *